• JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: /home/rescue/public_html/images/gallery/35anniversary
  • There was a problem rendering your image gallery. Please make sure that the folder you are using in the Simple Image Gallery Pro plugin tags exists and contains valid image files. The plugin could not locate the folder: images/gallery/35anniversary

Himalayan Rescue Association Nepal was established in 1973. This year on June 12, 2007 (29 Jesta, 2064) 35th Anniversary of HRA was celebrated. HRA Flag hoisting ceremony was jointly conducted by Secretary, Ministry for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Mr. Madhav Prasad Ghimire and HRA Patron Mr. Tek Chandra Pokharel at the HRA Office, Dhobichaur, Lazimpat, Kathmandu. Other programme such as to honor the Patrons of HRA, release the Souvenir Magazine and award the journalists with "HRA-P.P. Prasai Excellent Journalist/Writer Award-2007 " were conducted at hotel Malla.

Mr. Bikram Neupane Chairman of HRA chaired the Meeting and delivered the welcome speech. Chief Guest, Honorable Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Prithvi Subba Gurung inaugurated the programme by lighting on Panas. Hon'ble Minister released the 35th Anniversary Souvenir Magazine and honored Patrons of HRA by presenting  the HRA Logo engraved silver medal.

Name of the honored Patrons :
1. His Excellency, Michel Jolivet, The Ambassador, Embassy of France
2. Mr. Robert Hugins, Deputy Chief of Mission, US Embassy
3. Ms. Serena Borcklebank, Vice Consul & Entry Clearance Officer, British Embassy
4. Mr. Tek Chandra Pokharel
5. Mr. Jyoti L. Khanna
6. Col. P. Ongdi (Received by his son, Mr. Phintso Lama, MD, International Trekkers)
7. Mr. A.V. Jim Edwards
8. Late Col. Jimmy Roberts (Received by Mr. Anil Gurung, GM, Mountain Travel)
9. Mr. Takashi Miyahara
10. Dr. John Skow
11. Prof. Y. Hayata
12. Mr. William Reed
13. M/S Thomas Cook & Sons

On this occasion, Honorable Minister also presented the "HRA- P.P. Prasai Excellent Journalist/writer Award – 2007" to three writers/journalists who contributed writing about HRA and  rescue activities. This award was instituted by HRA in the memory of its former Chairman late P.P. Prasai. Winners of this award are as follows:
1. Mr. Madhav Prakash Subedi – Samasti Nepal
2. Mr. Susheel Bhattarai – Samachar Patra
3. Ms. Amrita Gurung – The Kathmandu Post, city post

During the programme Secretary, Mr. Madhav Prasad Ghimire appraised  the job being done by HRA and assured that Government is always with HRA to work together.

While addressing in a programme, hon'ble minister expressed that there is a lack of clear policy regarding rescue, if the tourism related individual and organization support to him then he will take step to formulate the policy on this field. He further said that the government should support organization like HRA.

In the mean time, HRA Patron Mr. A.V. Jim Edwards and Ms. Serena Borcklebank from British Embassy had kindly donated Rs. 99,000/- and Rs. 20,000/- to HRA respectively.

The programme was concluded after the Vote of Thanks remarked by Mr. Kumar Ranabhat, Vice Chairman of HRA.

Snaps of the Ceremony:


Copyrights © 1973-2012 | Himalayan Rescue Association Nepal.